Meditation Programs > Workout  > Motivation  > Surya Namaskar !

Surya Namaskar !

Surya Namaskar is an ancient spiritual exercise to offer our respects and prayers to Surya Deva, or Vivaswan, who helps us maintain our health, wisdom and life.
Sun is the eye of Krishna in the sky. This is the best meditation on Surya Deva. Surya is the most kind Deva for Human Beings.

12 Steps of Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation)

Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutation) is composed of 12 different postures. In this section; we will discuss how to perform each of them properly.

1. Pranamasana (Prayer Pose)

Pranamasana is the first posture in the yoga sequence. To accomplish this pose, stand upright on your mat and ensure that your feet are placed close to each other. Next, take a deep breath, expand your chest and relax your shoulder. During inhalation, raise your arms from the side and while exhaling join both your palms together as if you are praying. The prayer posture or first salutation is complete.

2. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised Arms Pose)

Ensure that your palms are joined together, just like in the previous prayer pose. Take a deep breath, lift your arms and slightly bent backward. Your biceps must stay close to your ears.

3. Hasta Padasana (Standing Forward Bend Pose)

Breathe out and bend forward from your waist. Try to touch the floor with your hands. However, ensure that your spine remains straight. While performing this pose, you should exhale slowly and thoroughly.

4. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Low Lunge Pose)

Bend your knees slightly, so that the palms can rest on the floor beside your feet. Take a deep breath, bring your right knee towards the right side of your chest and stretch your left leg backward. Raise your head and look forward.

5. Chaturanga Dandasana (Plank Pose)

Inhale and bring your right leg back as well. Now both your hands will be right under your shoulders. Ensure that your body is parallel to the ground.

6. Ashtanga Namaskara (Eight Limbed Pose)

This is also referred to as salutations using eight points or parts. After performing Chaturanga Dandasana, exhale and slowly bring your knees down toward the floor. Rest your chin on the floor and keep your hips suspended in the air. If done correctly, both your hands, knees, chin and chest will rest on the ground while your hips will remain suspended in the air.

7. Bhujangasana (Cobra Pose)

Rest your legs and midsection flat on the ground. Position your palms beside your chest. Inhale and apply pressure on the hands to raise your upper body. At this point, your head and torso will resemble a cobra with a raised hood.

8. Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward Facing Dog Pose)

Keep your palms and feet where they are. Exhale and gently lift your hips, so that the body forms an inverted ‘V’. Straighten your elbows and knees. Look toward your navel.

9. Ashwa Sanchalanasana (Low Lunge Pose)

After performing Adho Mukha Svanasana, go back to Ashwa Sanchalanasana by bringing your right foot forward. Keep your left leg stretched behind you and look forward.

10. Hasta Padasana (Standing Forward Bend)

Inhale and bring your left foot forward, such that it is next to your right foot. Keeping the position of your hands intact, exhale and slowly bend your torso to enter into the Hasta Padasana pose.

11. Hasta Uttanasana (Raised Arms Pose)

Inhale and lift your upper body. Join the palms and raise your arms above your head. Then bend backward as you did in step 2.

12. Pranamasana (Prayer Pose)

This is the last step. Breathe out and stand straight in a relaxed manner. Lower the arms and hold your palms in front of your chest. This marks the end of the first set of Surya Namaskar.


Donate us at the following link. Pls click the image.


aditya Satsangi

No Comments

Leave a reply